Already in the very early days of trading, people realized that the transport of goods from sender to receiver is only efficient if the loading capacity of the carrying resource is fully used. Collecting shipments from similar areas and or type of goods were first specializations. Still today, we see the same characteristics in the logistic industry. Resource exchange and rest places became depots or hubs. Today hub and spoke models are synchronizing the goods flow in a detailed manner.

Whether acting as forwarder and/or carrier, the goal is the ideal utilization of resources and bringing this in line with customer expectations (speed, quality, and price).

Challenge of the LTL / general cargo industry

The basic principle of a network is a service promise. In order to operate a general cargo network in an area, a certain business size mandatory.

Consequently, the carrier is forced to operate the network, not important whether the transport quantity is big or low. In order to have a base load, many transportation companies are willing or forced to accept such loads at a very low price, with the hope that other shipments will pay an extra premium.

LTL_tiefere_Margen

The result of this is well known: operating a network is a very low margin business.

LTL optimierte Flottenauslastung

Optimized fleet utilization. Which truck and truck size shall we use for which tour, not knowing which shipments and we need to collect in the afternoon? How can we avoid the bad cases that a vehicle has to make a dedicated run in order to pick-up one remaining palette at a remote place?

The use of subcontractors and specialized partners helps to keep the costs under control, but is on the other side often heavily increasing the complexity and an additional money flow must be managed.

Logistic service providers are deeply integrated into the supply chain of their customers and their customers customers. Only a small disruption of the flow might have a big impact. Customers are hence expecting a high service quality.

CAPcargo customers of the LTL / general cargo industry

Scotts logo - CAPcargo Reference

Scott's Refrigerated Logistics (Scott's RL) represents Australia’s only truly national temperature controlled supply chain network as a result of bringing together; Scott’s, Rand, Harris and JAT to form one single business.” Scott's RL is the biggest service provider in Australia when it comes refrigerated transport and warehousing services. www.scottsrl.com.au

LGT logo - CAPcargo Reference

LGT group (former known as LBC Sweden) is a Holding company with subsidiaries in Sweden, Denmark and Finland. The main business is European-wide transport as well as the storage of furniture. Per day 26`000 of pieces of furniture are transported. lgtlogistics.com

Many challenges and CAPcargo has some replies. Are you ready to learn what we can do to reach the next Level?

discover more about CAP.Transport

Schon in den Anfängen des Handels wurde erkannt, dass der Transport von Waren vom Absender zum Empfänger nur dann effizient ist, wenn die Ladekapazität der befördernden Ressource voll genutzt wird. Das Sammeln von Sendungen aus ähnlichen Bereichen und/oder Warenarten waren erste Spezialisierungen. Auch heute noch sehen wir die gleichen Charakteristika in der Logistikbranche. Ressourcenaustausch und Rastplätze wurden zu Depots oder Hubs. Heute synchronisieren Speichenmodelle (Hub-and-Spoke-Modelle) den Warenfluss in detaillierter Weise.

Ob als Spediteur und/oder Frachtführer, Ziel ist die optimale Ausnutzung der Ressourcen und deren Anpassung an die Kundenerwartungen (Geschwindigkeit, Qualität und Preis).

Herausforderung der LTL / Stückgut-Industrie

LTL network CAPcargo AG icon

Das Grundprinzip eines Netzwerkes ist ein Leistungsversprechen. Um ein Stückgutnetz in einem Gebiet zu betreiben, ist eine bestimmte Betriebsgröße zwingend erforderlich.

LTL low price CAPcargo AG icon

Folglich ist der Frachtführer gezwungen, das Netzwerk zu betreiben, wobei es nicht darauf ankommt, ob die Transportmenge groß oder klein ist. Um eine Grundlast zu haben, sind viele Transportunternehmen bereit oder gezwungen, solche Ladungen zu einem sehr niedrigen Preis zu akzeptieren, in der Hoffnung, dass andere Transporte einen zusätzlichen Aufschlag zahlen.

CAPcargo AG LTL stueckgut tiefere Margen

Das Ergebnis ist bekannt: Der Betrieb eines Netzwerkes ist ein sehr margenschwaches Geschäft.

LTL optimized fleet utilization CAPcargo

Optimierte Flottenauslastung. Welchen LKW und welche LKW-Größe sollen wir für welche Tour einsetzen, ohne zu wissen, welche Sendungen wir am Nachmittag abholen müssen? Wie können wir die schlimmen Fälle vermeiden, in denen ein Fahrzeug eine Sonderfahrt machen muss, um eine Restpalette an einem entfernten Ort abzuholen?

CAP.Transport subcontraction CAPcargo AG icon

Der Einsatz von Subunternehmern und spezialisierten Partnern hilft zwar, die Kosten unter Kontrolle zu halten, erhöht aber auf der anderen Seite die Komplexität oft stark und es muss ein zusätzlicher Geldfluss gemanagt werden.

LTL good service quality icon

Logistikdienstleister sind tief in die Supply Chain ihrer Kunden und deren Kunden integriert. Nur eine kleine Unterbrechung des Flusses kann große Auswirkungen haben. Kunden erwarten daher eine hohe Servicequalität.

CAPcargo-Kunden im Bereich Stückgut / LTL

Scotts logo - CAPcargo Reference

Scott’s Refrigerated Logistics (Scott’s RL) repräsentiert Australiens einziges wirklich nationales temperaturgesteuertes Lieferkettennetzwerk, das durch die Zusammenführung von Scott’s, Rand, Harris und JAT zu einem einzigen Unternehmen entstanden ist. Scott’s RL ist der größte Dienstleister in Australien, wenn es um Kühltransporte und Lagerdienstleistungen geht. www.scottsrl.com.au

LGT logo - CAPcargo Reference

Die LGT Gruppe (früher bekannt als LBC Schweden) ist eine Holding-Gesellschaft mit Tochtergesellschaften in Schweden, Dänemark und Finnland. Das Hauptgeschäft ist der europaweite Transport sowie die Lagerung von Möbeln. Pro Tag werden 26`000 Möbelstücke transportiert. lgtlogistics.com

Viele Herausforderungen und CAPcargo hat einige Antworten. Sind Sie bereit zu erfahren, was wir tun können, um die nächste Stufe zu erreichen?

Erfahren Sie mehr über CAP.Transport