The part and full truck load business is massive and is at least partly the result of decentralized manufacturing processes. In Europe, the biggest fleet operators are running several thousand trucks, but are having still a very low one-digit market share. The hurdle to enter the FTL market is low. Small operators can start running a business with a few trucks, drivers, insurance coverage, a few loyal customers and a smart phone. On the other end, we see carriers with a big power; they can arrange movements at every size, from every area of a continent at every moment. Focus on speed (change drivers), equipment, use of multimodal, quality or language can help to differentiate.

Challenges of the FTL / part and full load industry

FTL part and full load market parimeter CAPcargo AG icon

A market moving to the perimeter: the main variable cost factor when operating a truck is the driver’s salary. Human resources are better available and at lower costs in areas with lower business and industry activates. Carriers in these areas have a competitive advantage. Traditional carriers either try to source drivers from low cost countries or shift their entire operations into these areas.

FTL challenge CAPcargo

Free market for goods and services are no hurdle anymore. With exceptions, every truck can load everywhere. The other side of the medal is that drivers sometimes have no know how about local specifics at pick-up and delivery points.

FTL empty kilometers mileages

Minimize empty kilometers/mileages and waiting time: finding in ideal load for the trucks, as close as possible from the last unloading point with as minimal as possible waiting time, is the magic of the business. Is it better to take a load with a higher revenue accepting some empty km or wait for a next option?

FTL delivery on time icon CAPcargo AG

Customers are asking for an in-time delivery and drivers must take the rest break. Intensive traffic in urban areas are making delays very possible. How can we anticipate this and keeping the customer in the loop?

CAPcargo customer of the FTL / part and full load industry

CFT Kundenreferenz CAPcargo AG

CFT is the market leader in France for inland navigation, coastal shipping and multimodal solutions combining the two. Services include the transport of bulk goods, liquid and gasiform fuel, containers as well as special projects such as components for Airbus and Arianespace. The fleet consists of 230 pushers, boats and barges. https://www.sogestran.com

hartl connect Kundenreferenz CAPcargo AG

The Hartl Connect Transport GmbH is a service-oriented full-scale logistics partner. Hartl Carrier SRL focuses on moving cargo from A to B in a fast and reliable manner, using its own fleet of 200 Tautliners. These companies and their core business illustrate the multi-facetted orientation of the HARTL Group towards transportation service solutions of all kinds. hartlconnect.com

Many challenges and CAPcargo has some replies. Are you ready to learn what we can do to reach the next Level?

discover more about CAP.Transport

Das Teil- und Komplettladungsgeschäft ist massiv und ist zumindest teilweise das Ergebnis dezentraler Fertigungsprozesse. In Europa betreiben die größten Flottenbetreiber mehrere tausend LKWs, haben aber immer noch einen sehr niedrigen einstelligen Marktanteil. Die Hürde für den Einstieg in den FTL-Markt ist niedrig. Kleine Betreiber können mit wenigen LKWs, Fahrern, Versicherungsschutz, einigen wenigen treuen Kunden und einem Smartphone ein Geschäft aufbauen. Auf der anderen Seite sehen wir Frachtführer mit einer großen Macht; sie können Bewegungen in jeder Größe, aus jedem Gebiet eines Kontinents und zu jedem Zeitpunkt arrangieren. Der Fokus auf Geschwindigkeit (Fahrerwechsel), Ausrüstung, Einsatz von Multimodal, Qualität oder Sprache kann helfen, sich zu differenzieren.

Herausforderungen der FTL / Teil- und Komplettladung-Industrie

FTL part and full load market parimeter CAPcargo AG icon

Ein Markt, der sich im Grenzbereich bewegt: Der wichtigste variable Kostenfaktor beim Betrieb eines LKWs ist das Gehalt des Fahrers. In Gebieten mit geringerer Geschäfts- und Industrietätigkeit sind die personellen Ressourcen besser verfügbar und zu geringeren Kosten. Frachtführer in diesen Bereichen haben einen Wettbewerbsvorteil. Traditionelle Frachtführer versuchen entweder, Fahrer aus Niedrigkostenländern zu beschäftigen, oder sie verlagern ihren gesamten Betrieb in diese Gebiete.

FTL challenge CAPcargo

Der freie Markt für Waren und Dienstleistungen ist keine Hürde mehr. Von Ausnahmen abgesehen, kann jeder LKW überall laden. Die Kehrseite der Medaille ist, dass die Fahrer manchmal über keine Kenntnisse der lokalen Besonderheiten an den Abhol- und Lieferpunkten haben.

FTL empty kilometers mileages

Minimierung von Leerkilometern und Wartezeiten: Die optimale LKW-Beladung zu finden, möglichst nahe an der letzten Abladestelle mit möglichst geringer Wartezeit, ist die Magie des Geschäfts. Ist es besser, eine Ladung mit einem höheren Ertrag und einigen Leerkilometern anzunehmen oder auf die nächste Option zu warten?

FTL delivery on time icon CAPcargo AG

Die Kunden verlangen eine pünktliche Lieferung und die Fahrer müssen die gesetzlichen Ruhepausen einhalten. Der intensive Verkehr in den Städten kann zu  Verspätungen führen. Wie können wir dies vorhersehen und den Kunden auf dem Laufenden halten?

CAPcargo-Kunden im Bereich FTL / Teil- und Komplettladung

CFT Kundenreferenz CAPcargo AG

CFT ist in Frankreich Marktführer für die Binnenschifffahrt, die Küstenschifffahrt und multimodale Lösungen, die beides kombinieren. Zu den Dienstleistungen gehören der Transport von Massengütern, flüssigen und gasförmigen Treibstoffen, Containern sowie Sonderprojekte wie Komponenten für Airbus und Arianespace. Die Flotte besteht aus 230 Pushern, Bargen und Lastkähnen. https://www.sogestran.com

hartl connect Kundenreferenz CAPcargo AG

Die Hartl Connect Transport GmbH ist ein serviceorientierter Logistik-Partner. Hartl Carrier SRL konzentriert sich auf den schnellen und zuverlässigen Transport von A nach B mit einer eigenen Flotte von 200 Tautlinern. Diese Unternehmen und ihr Kerngeschäft veranschaulichen die facettenreiche Ausrichtung der HARTL-Gruppe auf Transportdienstleistungslösungen aller Art. hartlconnect.com/de

Viele Herausforderungen und CAPcargo hat einige Antworten. Sind Sie bereit zu erfahren, was wir tun können, um die nächste Stufe zu erreichen?

Erfahren Sie mehr über CAP.Transport