Home shopping is not new, but distribution channels are changing. Manufacturers might skip local distribution centers and sales points and deliver goods directly to the home address of the buyer. In urban areas, people don’t have a car or don’t want to shop anymore in the suburbs.

Logistic service providers not only take a delivery role, but offer also additional services. Starting from taking an old sofa back to the mounting of new equipment. For the transportation company this is only some extra business, others would call it off-site manufacturing.

The rendering of the additional services is on the other hand not just an activity the regular driver is doing. Know how is needed and customers are expecting that the local “driver” is representing their values.

Challenge of home delivery division

FTL delivery on time icon CAPcargo AG

For the delivery is in most cases an appointment needed with the customer. Calling them up is time intensive but has the advantage to double-check details with them (can we sell additional services?)

Home delivery stop-sequence icon CAPcargo AG

What is the best sequence of the stops the driver has to take in order to keep the delivery time promises?

home delivery know how education icon CAPcargo AG

We need to ensure that the appointed driver/staff has the right know how, education and equipment in order to serve the customer.

home delivery push notification icon CAPcargo AG

How shall we handle pre-alerts, e.g. 1 hour prior to delivery? office, driver, automated message?

home delivery rejection purchase

Even though customer has ordered the items, sometimes they reject the goods or the customer was not at home. Where to deliver?

CAPcargo customer in the home delivery division

Melo Kundenreferenz CAPcargo AG

The MELO group was founded in the year 2015 based on the Munich based company Presse-Vertrieb Hermann Trunk. Still today the distribution of newspapers and related products are an important element of the family owned MELO group. Today over 2000 employees are working in Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Great Britain and the United States of America.

Melo uses the CAPcargo application in various areas. Among other things, CAP.Transport handles central order management, tour planning, customer price calculation and invoicing. CAPcargo DriverApp is used as a front-end device for all drivers. Detailed scanning of all parcels enables the customer to obtain up-to-date tracking information on the shipment. www.melo-group.com/en/

NCC Kundenreferenz CAPcargo AG

NCC industry focusses on industrial production – stone materials, asphalt, foundation work and recycling of construction materials. They are a proactive partner with combined expertise in manufacturing and contracting with strong focus on sustainable solutions.

NCC has been using our solutions CAP.Trade&Distribution and CAP.Transport since Q1 2018 for the self-billing of the external forwarding agents. In the future they plan to use our CAPcargo DriverApp. www.ncc.com

Many challenges and CAPcargo has some replies. Are you ready to learn what we can do to reach the next Level?

discover more about CAP.Transport

Homeshopping ist nicht neu, aber die Vertriebswege verändern sich. Die Hersteller könnten lokale Vertriebszentren und Verkaufsstellen überspringen und die Waren direkt an die Privatadresse des Käufers liefern. In städtischen Gebieten haben die Menschen kein Auto oder wollen nicht mehr in den Vororten einkaufen.

Logistikdienstleister übernehmen nicht nur die Rolle des Lieferanten, sondern bieten auch zusätzliche Dienstleistungen an. Angefangen von der Rücknahme eines alten Sofas bis hin zur Montage neuer Geräte. Für das Transportunternehmen ist dies nur ein Zusatzgeschäft, andere würden es als ausgelagerte Fertigung bezeichnen.

Die Erbringung der zusätzlichen Dienstleistungen ist andererseits nicht nur eine Tätigkeit, die der Fahrer ausübt. Es wird Know-how benötigt und die Kunden erwarten, dass der lokale “Fahrer” ihre Werte vertritt.

Herausforderungen der Home delivery – Industrie

Für die Lieferung ist in den meisten Fällen ein Termin mit dem Kunden erforderlich. Der Abruf ist zeitaufwendig, hat aber den Vorteil, dass die Details mit dem Kunden noch einmal überprüft und besprochen werden können (können wir zusätzliche Dienstleistungen anbieten?)

Welches ist die beste Reihenfolge der Stopps, die der Fahrer einhalten muss, um die versprochene Lieferzeit einzuhalten zu können?

Wir müssen sicherstellen, dass der eingesetzte Fahrer/Personal über das richtige Knowhow, die richtige Ausbildung und Ausrüstung verfügt, um den Kunden bedienen zu können.

Wie sollen wir mit der geforderten Voravisierung umgehen, z.B. 1 Stunde vor der Lieferung? Aufgabe vom Büro oder Fahrer oder doch besser eine automatische Nachricht?

Obwohl der Kunde die Gegenstände bestellt hat, lehnen sie manchmal die Ware ab oder der Kunde war nicht zu Hause. Wohin liefern?

CAPcargo-Kunden im Bereich Home delivery

Melo Kundenreferenz CAPcargo AG

Die Gruppe MELO wurde im Jahr 2015 auf der Grundlage des Münchner Presse-Vertriebs Hermann Trunk gegründet. Auch heute noch ist der Vertrieb von Zeitungen und verwandten Produkten ein wichtiger Bestandteil der in Familienbesitz befindlichen MELO-Gruppe. Heute sind über 2000 Mitarbeiter in Deutschland, Österreich, der Schweiz, Großbritannien und den Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika tätig.

Melo setzt die CAPcargo-Anwendung in verschiedenen Bereichen ein. CAP.Transport übernimmt unter anderem die zentrale Auftragsverwaltung, Tourenplanung, Kundenpreiskalkulation und Rechnungsstellung. Die CAPcargo DriverApp wird als Front-End-Gerät für alle Fahrer eingesetzt. Ein detailliertes Scannen aller Pakete ermöglicht dem Kunden aktuelle Tracking-Informationen zur Sendung zu erhalten. www.melo-group.com/de/

NCC Kundenreferenz CAPcargo AG

NCC Industry fokussiert sich auf die industrielle Produktion von Steinmaterialien, Asphalt, Fundamentarbeiten und Recycling von Baumaterialien. Sie sind ein proaktiver Partner mit kombinierter Fachkompetenz in den Bereichen Herstellung und Auftragsvergabe mit Schwerpunkt auf nachhaltigen Lösungen.

Für die Abwicklung und Zeitabrechnung der Fremdspediteure setzt NCC seit Q1 2018 unsere Lösungen CAP.Trade&Distribution und CAP.Transport ein. Für die Zukunft ist der Einsatz unserer CAPcargo DriverApp geplant. www.ncc.com

Viele Herausforderungen und CAPcargo hat einige Antworten. Sind Sie bereit zu erfahren, was wir tun können, um die nächste Stufe zu erreichen?

Erfahren Sie mehr über CAP.Transport